Boardgames in Blighty 2014 in review

Me

Boardgames in Blighty 2014 in review

I’ve received a 2014 stats review for my tiny little corner of the boardgaming world which I started in January 2010.

Crunchy numbers

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 52,000 times in 2014. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 19 sold-out performances for that many people to see it. Fair dinkum, I’d say…

There were 327 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 70 MB. That’s about 6 pictures per week. Not as prolific as some but my decision to become much more selective in what I post about has worked for my needs.

The busiest day of the year was December 22nd with 274 views. The most popular post that day was Yes, I am a Grognard (wargamer). That is really interesting as I posted that one on a whim. The Grognard community is very supportive so thanks!

Posting Pattern

In 2014, there were 123 new posts, growing the total archive of Boardgames in Blighty to 729 posts since I started. 

Attractions in 2014

These are the top 5 posts that got the most views in 2014.

Review – Theseus: The Dark Orbit from Portal Games

Review – Paul Koenig’s The Bulge: 6th Panzer Army from Victory Point Games 

Review – Cruel Necessity: The English Civil Wars, 1640-1653 from Victory Point Games

Review – Kampen om Norge (Battle of Norway) from Vega Forlag  

Review – Thunderstone Advance from AEG (a solitaire viewpoint)

Interesting how 3 of these are new releases from Victory Point Games. Not surprised to see Theseus as Portal Games continue to publish popular and intriguing games. Very surprised about Thunderstone Advance only in that I hadn’t realised that it has maintained such popularity, as good as it is.

How did they find you?

The top referring sites in 2014 were:

  1. boardgamegeek.com
  2. twitter.com
  3. facebook.com
  4. grognard.com
  5. victorypointgames.com

Lesson for any blogger is to keep working the social media proactively.

Where did they come from?

That’s 129 countries in all! Most visitors came from U.K. which pleases me as that’s where I live. The United States & Canada were not far behind. Really happy to see that I have a reasonably global reach. The internet is indeed, amazing.

 

So what does this all mean for me and Boardgames in Blighty?

Well, if you’ve been checking in with me, you will have noticed that I have significantly reduced the number of reviews, choosing instead to focus on news posts. With a year behind me where I was made redundant, found a new job, relocated to London, had a few health challenges and worked with Backspindle Games to get Luchador! Mexican Wrestling Dice 2nd Edition funded on Kickstarter and out to supporters as well as into the wider market, my time for reviewing games has become very limited. What’s more, I found that I was losing the fun of playing where it was all about writing reviews. That is a very bad thing for me.

So, I will continue as I am, posting news I think is interesting, particularly regarding my awesome friends from Victory Point Games, Columbia Games, Backspindle Games, and Esdevium Games with the odd review if I can make the time. Note – My reviews will likely be based on solitaire play as I don’t have a game group now. I’m also hopeful that there may be some podcast involvement in 2015 hopefully so watch this space.

That is unless, some of you are keen to post reviews or articles as guest contributors… if you are interested, DM me on Boardgamegeek where you can find me listed as mrivera.

Anyhoo, I wish you all a wonderful 2015. Play more games, spread the word and grow our hobby!

Leave a Reply

