How can Local game manufacturers become more competitive to stop the rot Chinese production delays on KS projects? Post your thoughts and suggestions here…

I will pose the question…

How can Local game manufacturers become more competitive to stop the rot of Chinese production delays on Kickatarter projects (and others)?  

Having just received an update about delays (hopefully not huge…) that Albino Dragon is experiencing with their Chinese production company (apparently the best manufacturer there…) for our game, Ace of Spies, I find myself wondering what local game manufacturers can do to become more competitive and offer a viable alternative to those running Kickstarter campaigns and game publishers as a whole.

I’m no expert but from what I understand, it appears that to make the games being produced affordable, China production seems to be the only way to go. And with the volume of games being successfully kickstarted”, I am wondering out loud whether local game manufacturers need to do more to be more competitive, particularly for small publishers.There seems to be an opportunity for more business here.

Maybe you have some constructive ideas you could post here? There’s a win for supporting local manufacturing, especially in the current economic climate.

A thought I have is I’m wondering whether Kickstarters should cost out Local and Chinese production offerings and timescales and if the local timescale for delivery is sufficiently quicker, charge more for the Kickstarter levels to reflect this. Backers can then see that they will be paying more but getting faster delivery so its worth it. Just a thought anyways…

So, give it some thought and if you have any useful suggestions, feel free to post them.I will point publishers and manufacturers here.

Cheers.

 

2 thoughts on “How can Local game manufacturers become more competitive to stop the rot Chinese production delays on KS projects? Post your thoughts and suggestions here…”

  1. Well I am in the process of sourcing manufactures for my first board game release, I am in th UK and I am approaching companies in the UK and elsewhere. so hopefully I will soon have ideas on exactly what the cost comparisons are. I believe that the right company in the UK with the right attitude could become a go to place if the quality, time and price are all good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

